The territories listed in this section aren't actually a part of the British Commonwealth, but they fit neatly in this space with other former colonies that are (or were) part of that entity.

In 2002, the UK Parliament passed the British Overseas Territories (BOT) Act 2002. This reclassified the UK's dependent territories as Overseas Territories and, with the exception of those people solely connected with the Sovereign Base Areas of Cyprus, restored full British citizenship to their inhabitants.

The British Overseas Territories extend to every continent of the World, with the Caribbean Overseas Territories in North America, The Falklands in South America, Saint Helena and Dependencies in Africa, Pitcairn in Oceania, Gibraltar in Europe, British Indian Ocean Territory in Asia, and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands in Antarctica.
The full listing of BOTs (currently 14 in total) is:
  • Anguilla
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Falkland Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Montserrat
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Saint Helena (including Ascension, Tristan da Cunha)
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia (no philatelic interest - so not listed)
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2021 Stamp Collector. Powered by Zen Cart